Independence: Political events in 2006, 2008, and 2015


Research output: Chapter in Book/Report/Conference proceedingChapters


This chapter describes the main political events between 2005 and 2015. Mari Alkatiri, General Secretary of the Fretilin party, won the Constituent Assembly elections and became the first Prime Minister of the independent country on May 20, 2002. Two crises in 2006–2008 and 2015 are compared. This chapter tries to point out some solutions to avoid further crises. The Sixth Government of East Timor is atypical and was established after the resignation of PM Xanana Gusmão in 2015. A bi-party political system under the leadership of a Prime Minister of the opposition seems to work. This chapter presents a short introduction of the fact that ASEAN is a unique solution for the future of the new country. Copyright © 2018 The Author(s).
Original languageEnglish
Title of host publicationEast Timor's independence, Indonesia and ASEAN
EditorsJean A. BERLIE
Place of PublicationSwitzerland
PublisherPalgrave Macmillan
ISBN (Electronic)9783319626307
ISBN (Print)9783319626291
Publication statusPublished - 2018


Berlie, J. A. (2018). Independence: Political events in 2006, 2008, and 2015. In J. A. Berlie (Ed.) East Timor's independence, Indonesia and ASEAN (pp. 33-59). Switzerland: Palgrave Macmillan.


  • Australia
  • Democracy
  • IDPS
  • Independence
  • Maritime borders
  • Oil
  • Petitioner
  • Political events
  • Rebel


Dive into the research topics of 'Independence: Political events in 2006, 2008, and 2015'. Together they form a unique fingerprint.